Reviews

8.6
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.0
Comfort
8.7
Property location
8.4
Facilities
8.3
Staff
8.5
Value
8.7

Reviews

    Heleen
    nl

    Review score

    8.3
    23 August 2017
    Good location, quiet. Spacious room.
    em
    hk

    Review score

    9.2
    18 August 2017

    Friendly, clean and comfortable!

    Lighting a little low and walls are thin so can be noisy.
    The staff spoke little English but were really delightful. It's essentially an old family home now used as a B&B - Has that slightly dated family house decor but comfy lounge and cosy kitchen...
    Steph19
    jp

    Review score

    9.6
    7 June 2017

    Great

    Not in the center. Just 5 mins walk, not a big deal though
    Friendly staff, like homestay
    Raquel
    pe

    Review score

    5.4
    6 June 2017

    You pay a lot to feel unwelcome

    The atmosphere is BAD! It was supposed to you to feel home and cozy, but the true is you feel like you're not an invited guest is someone else's house. Always that feeling of being unwelcome. Absolutely didn't worth the price we paid.
    The structure is fine, decent beds and showers. They have actual beds, not bunks, which was good, and the room was really big. The breakfast was fair too, although you have it in the house kitchen, a regular kitchen which does not support more than 4 or 5 people. Guess how do they manage to fit everyone during the high season.
    Kira
    pe

    Review score

    7.9
    24 April 2017

    Wonderful breakfast! :D

    I think it would be nicer in high season with a nice atmosphere - I was one of 2 people in the hostel so the social spaces weren't so social! :P The woman who checked me in and made my breakfast was wonderful, and also gave me tips on possible walks to do etc and ordered me a taxi :) The other two members of staff I met however were quite sullen.
    The breakfast at Alojamiento Soledad is WONDERFUL! The owner cooked it just for me when I got up, and it included not only egg, coffee, fresh pineapple juice and bread but also homemade mango jam! Yum! She also made me a sandwich for the day (with homemade apple jam!) free of charge. The bedroom was lovely and just 2 beds in my dorm. The bathroom is spacious but not particularly elegant. There is a spacious room to relax downstairs with plenty of sofas.
    Sarah
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    7 March 2017

    Nice quite restful space

    The hot water was a little iffy. The staff has you keep your room key in the office whenever you leave, so you have to buzz to be let inside each time you go out. Also there is no central heating so can get a bit cold at night - so ask for extra blankets!
    The staff was easy to work with and let us take a quick shower before our long overnight bus to the next town after we had checked out. They were quite accommodating with our needs. Really nice rooftop hangout area. Breakfast was pretty decent.
    Sandra
    de

    Review score

    10
    18 January 2017
    Everybody was very friendly and helpful
    Annemarie
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    5 January 2017

    Home far away from home

    The lovely staff was very friendly and helpful. Their house was like a home far away from home for us. Exellent breakfast with homemade marmelade and eggs. They also helped us to organise and book all our tours and trekkings. We can definetely recommend this hostel! :)
    Aurore
    fr

    Review score

    6.7
    30 October 2016

    Be careful and double-check prices!

    - Be careful if you're on a low budget, we really felt like walking wallets for the hosting family from the beginning to the end... They charged us higher for the room than what we booked on Booking, saying at the check-in that our type of room was not longer available but they would update us in a better room at no cost, which was in the end not the case at the time of check-out!!! They also sold us tours for 35S and then charged 40S for the same tours, and even charged us 10S by shower after we came back from the Santa Cruz trek when it's usually free in other hostels. - This is a family house so not always easy to use the kitchen which is really small and used everyday by the family, you feel a bit like you're intruding at someone's place - A bit away from the center (10min walk)
    - Confortable, clean and very quiet - Wifi was working OK - Our best breakfast after 1 month in Peru with bread and homemade jam, scrambled eggs... The staff was kind enough to leave us the breakfast all prepared for us when we had to leave very early in the morning for tours, which was highly appreciated!
    Andreon84
    it

    Review score

    8.3
    19 October 2016

    Comfortable stay at a fair price

    Very comfortable place to stay, decent price, clean, hot water. I was leaving for a trekking the day after at 4:30 in the morning and the staff prepared breakfast for me the day before and left it in the breakfast room.
    fr

    Review score

    3.3
    7 October 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Chris
    us

    Review score

    10
    9 September 2016
    As noted, the breakfasts lacked imagination and variety.
    Everything about the place was excellent, except for the breakfasts. The staff, the facilities, the location, etc.
    Rosita
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    29 August 2016
    Excellent customer service. The staff were very helpful and provided a comfortable and home-like experience for us.
    Rosita
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    10 August 2016

    Excellent staff and helpful with tours around Huaraz!!

    Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was served beautifully each day and they made us feel as though we were at home. They assisted with tours and we enjoyed our stay very much. I accidentally left my mobile phone the evening of check-out and a staff member went out of his way to find me at the Bus terminal to hand it back to me - I am so grateful to the staff for all they did to help make our stay enjoyable!!!
    Andrea
    at

    Review score

    7.9
    16 June 2016

    Comfortable home stay

    Not the cheapest option in town, but there are only 3 beds in the shared room.
    Good breakfast. Quiet. Hot water. After checkout you can still store your luggage (and shower for 7 soles). Comfortable living room, feels like home rather than a hostel.
    James
    au

    Review score

    5.4
    10 May 2016
    Hostel totally lacked any atmosphere. Lady serving breakfast seemed to really not like her job
    Good beds