Reviews

8.6
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.0
Comfort
8.7
Property Location
8.5
Facilities
8.4
Staff
8.6
Value
8.7

Reviews

    Katarina
    de

    Review Score

    10
    April 30, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Veronica Brown
    ca

    Review Score

    10
    December 28, 2017

    Pre-trek stay

    Lovely hosts, had lots of gear for us to rent for our trek, water and pop, some snacks and great simple breakfast. Great view from the top terrace. Allowed us to keep our extra stuff here while we completed our trek. Tao picked us up from the bus (which was terrible-dont expect to sleep on the over night bus) and then dropped us off on Christmas day for the santa Cruz trek. Highly recommend getting Tao to take you on your day trips if you don't go with a group. The man is a living legend and the sweetest. They will set you up with day trips, an option of 4 different locations. Laundry is off site, usually next day service. They will set you up with that.
    Pavol
    sk

    Review Score

    8.3
    September 30, 2017

    Nice and cozy stay

    Other staff was not that nice and friendly. Sometimes looked as bothered by customers.
    Owner lady was amazing and helpfull. Very nice property.
    Saikat Banerjee
    in

    Review Score

    10
    July 2, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Undii
    lv

    Review Score

    9.6
    October 29, 2016

    Beautiful house

    Beautiful house in nice and calm area, but still close to main square. Public garden and large rooftop with nice views. Comfortable room and excellent breakfast.
    py

    Review Score

    8.3
    July 17, 2016

    Good hostel in Huaraz

    Bed a bit hard.
    Helpful and friendly staff.
    Etienne Foulon
    ca

    Review Score

    8.8
    May 12, 2018
    Noisy noisy noisy. If you plan on getting there avoid St Carmen. There is a week long celebration early May with dances, fireworks and music literally next to the room as the Soledad church from which the celebration originates is a block away. I would guess that at any other time of the year the place is rather quieter than anywhere closer to plaza de Armas
    Steady wifi (quick only in common areas) Nice patio Personnel is amazingly nice Good breakfast Possibility to stay in the common areas in case of early arrivals or late check out. I could even take a shower before getting a night bus to Lima.
    Heleen
    nl

    Review Score

    8.3
    August 23, 2017
    Good location, quiet. Spacious room.
    em
    hk

    Review Score

    9.2
    August 18, 2017

    Friendly, clean and comfortable!

    Lighting a little low and walls are thin so can be noisy.
    The staff spoke little English but were really delightful. It's essentially an old family home now used as a B&B - Has that slightly dated family house decor but comfy lounge and cosy kitchen...
    Steph19
    jp

    Review Score

    9.6
    June 7, 2017

    Great

    Not in the center. Just 5 mins walk, not a big deal though
    Friendly staff, like homestay
    Raquel
    pe

    Review Score

    5.4
    June 6, 2017

    You pay a lot to feel unwelcome

    The atmosphere is BAD! It was supposed to you to feel home and cozy, but the true is you feel like you're not an invited guest is someone else's house. Always that feeling of being unwelcome. Absolutely didn't worth the price we paid.
    The structure is fine, decent beds and showers. They have actual beds, not bunks, which was good, and the room was really big. The breakfast was fair too, although you have it in the house kitchen, a regular kitchen which does not support more than 4 or 5 people. Guess how do they manage to fit everyone during the high season.
    Kira
    pe

    Review Score

    7.9
    April 24, 2017

    Wonderful breakfast! :D

    I think it would be nicer in high season with a nice atmosphere - I was one of 2 people in the hostel so the social spaces weren't so social! :P The woman who checked me in and made my breakfast was wonderful, and also gave me tips on possible walks to do etc and ordered me a taxi :) The other two members of staff I met however were quite sullen.
    The breakfast at Alojamiento Soledad is WONDERFUL! The owner cooked it just for me when I got up, and it included not only egg, coffee, fresh pineapple juice and bread but also homemade mango jam! Yum! She also made me a sandwich for the day (with homemade apple jam!) free of charge. The bedroom was lovely and just 2 beds in my dorm. The bathroom is spacious but not particularly elegant. There is a spacious room to relax downstairs with plenty of sofas.
    Sarah
    us

    Review Score

    7.9
    March 7, 2017

    Nice quite restful space

    The hot water was a little iffy. The staff has you keep your room key in the office whenever you leave, so you have to buzz to be let inside each time you go out. Also there is no central heating so can get a bit cold at night - so ask for extra blankets!
    The staff was easy to work with and let us take a quick shower before our long overnight bus to the next town after we had checked out. They were quite accommodating with our needs. Really nice rooftop hangout area. Breakfast was pretty decent.
    Sandra
    de

    Review Score

    10
    January 18, 2017
    Everybody was very friendly and helpful
    Annemarie
    de

    Review Score

    9.6
    January 5, 2017

    Home far away from home

    The lovely staff was very friendly and helpful. Their house was like a home far away from home for us. Exellent breakfast with homemade marmelade and eggs. They also helped us to organise and book all our tours and trekkings. We can definetely recommend this hostel! :)
    Aurore
    fr

    Review Score

    6.7
    October 30, 2016

    Be careful and double-check prices!

    - Be careful if you're on a low budget, we really felt like walking wallets for the hosting family from the beginning to the end... They charged us higher for the room than what we booked on Booking, saying at the check-in that our type of room was not longer available but they would update us in a better room at no cost, which was in the end not the case at the time of check-out!!! They also sold us tours for 35S and then charged 40S for the same tours, and even charged us 10S by shower after we came back from the Santa Cruz trek when it's usually free in other hostels. - This is a family house so not always easy to use the kitchen which is really small and used everyday by the family, you feel a bit like you're intruding at someone's place - A bit away from the center (10min walk)
    - Confortable, clean and very quiet - Wifi was working OK - Our best breakfast after 1 month in Peru with bread and homemade jam, scrambled eggs... The staff was kind enough to leave us the breakfast all prepared for us when we had to leave very early in the morning for tours, which was highly appreciated!
    Andreon84
    it

    Review Score

    8.3
    October 19, 2016

    Comfortable stay at a fair price

    Very comfortable place to stay, decent price, clean, hot water. I was leaving for a trekking the day after at 4:30 in the morning and the staff prepared breakfast for me the day before and left it in the breakfast room.
    fr

    Review Score

    3.3
    October 7, 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Chris
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 9, 2016
    As noted, the breakfasts lacked imagination and variety.
    Everything about the place was excellent, except for the breakfasts. The staff, the facilities, the location, etc.
    Rosita
    au

    Review Score

    9.2
    August 29, 2016
    Excellent customer service. The staff were very helpful and provided a comfortable and home-like experience for us.
Loading reviews...